Desi Bridal Shower

Ah, just a few days to go. I feel exhausted with a nine to five job, last minute errands and shopping. It seems like a race that I have to finish on time. My husband feels equally exhausted with his job and a gazillion errands including some last minute renovations in the house. Sometimes, I just wish that I would have just gotten married in the house’s drawing room. But then I think that I am being thankless and just suck it all in.

It really would have been great if we had just done a wedding reception, since we are already had our nikah early this year. It would have saved a lot of money and decreased a lot of stress. But I guess, everything happens for a reason.

Enough of my rant, let me share some sweet update now. My aunt threw a lovely un-expected bridal shower for me. Thankfully, the world did not end on the 21st of December 2012, and i rushed home from work in the evening.  I hurried to get dressed. I rubbed  some tinted moisturizer, used my finger tips to smear some gold eye shadow on my eyes, used a kohl pencil to line my eyes and there was this last minute lip butter and i was set to go.

The bridal shower was not something which we had planned. There were no coordinated dresses. No theme. No bride to be sash. Nothing. :)

But it was still so special. All my cousins and close family were there. We took advantage of the situation and distributed the wedding cards there and then. Everybody thought they were very simple and elegant. MashaAllah.

My brother had baked a special chocolate and coconut truffle for me. My aunt had baked a delicious chocolate brownie cake. There was this mouth watering Coffee Delight desert with the initial of my name “S” sprinkled onto it with edible silver beads.

Instead of gifts for the bride, my aunty had put up a Charity box for cancer patients. Everyone had been told to bring a minimal amount of cash and they were then told to drop that in the charity box as a “sadqa” for the upcoming marriage of mine. Everyone gave me lots of duas. I was so touched. That was the sweetest and most genuine thing anybody has ever done for me. <3

Everybody then took turns to say something good about me. That was funny. Some people could answer it easily. Some took their time. And then there was my sister to say something horrible about me to level the praise and make everyone laugh. Lol. Fun, Fun. Fun.

The event ended with everyone telling the others an “achi baat” ( something valuable/ something with a lesson). My favourite was this one: “ Hamesha apnay aap ko zeir rakho, zabar naheen, kyunkey tumheine pesh bhi hona hai”. In other words, always keep your demeanor humble and do not puff yourself with pride as some day you have to stand before Almighty and be judged. Ah, the translation has taken the beauty of the advice but that’s the way it is.

Until laters, stay bright and happy and grateful to Allah. <3

Clueless Me. :)

 

ps. Here are some pics. I do not own a DSLR so we have to make do. <3

Food.

Food.

Coffee Delight ( yum)

Coffee Delight ( yum)

Now, which one could be me? :)

this be me

this be me

Atar ( non alcoholic concentrated perfumes) and tasbeehs for the mommies and their daughters.

Atar ( non alcoholic concentrated perfumes) and tasbeehs for the mommies and their daughters.

the food again

delicious chicken and coconut milk gravy
delicious chicken and coconut milk soup with herbs
I am wearing a lovely white dupatta which probably is from my aunt's bari. It had these  tiny pink roses made on it. She wanted me to wear it when cutting the cake. I loved it.

I am wearing a lovely white dupatta which probably is from my aunt’s bari. It had these tiny pink roses made on it. She wanted me to wear it when cutting the cake. I loved it.

I shall cut the cake. :)

I shall cut the cake. :)

This big red rose ring

This big red rose ring

Spring Rolls

Spring Rolls

Spaghetti. *yum*

*yum*

The Truffle, Bro made.

The Truffle, Bro made.

the sadqa box

the sadqa box

 

Related Info:

In case you are wondering, i got this dress stitched from a local tailor. It can be made easily in any colour.

I got this ring from Artlicious.

To stay updated with more wedding news, please join my facebook page. :)

2 thoughts on “Desi Bridal Shower

Leave a Reply

