My sister’s mehendi

So i have always loved dancing. Not that i am a great dancer, but dancing is fun isn’t it? Which brings me to the dhol dhamaka in mehendis. :)

 

My personal opinion is that mehendis should be solely a family event. There should be no outsider as such. Even when it comes to friends, they should be the closest ones. I am not too fond of strangers taking pictures, making videos on their cell phones and gawking at the girls dancing. 

 

That said, my sister’s mehendi ceremony last year was also a simple, strictly family event and lots of fun. The only hiccup that day was the mehendi application expert we had booked ditching us. Yep! The mehendi wali we had booked to put bridal mehendi on my sister’s hands and feet pulled a disappearing act on us.

 

After several frantic phone calls, thanks to a great school friend, I  booked another mehendi application expert literally last minute. But then because of the mehendi wali issue, the entire event was delayed and there was just no option but to try to dry the mehendi on my sister’s hand and feet by a hair dryer. That was something. 

You know how they say everything happens for the better. Well, it was for the better because the mehendi put on my sister’s hands and feet was just beautiful. MashaAllah. And once the event started, everything went smooth. My sister looked so pretty and radiant.  Infact everybody did. :)

 

We  danced to a medley of the following songs on my sister’s mehendi last year:

 

  1. Mehendi hai rachne wali – Zubeida
  2. Sasural Genda Phool (remix)- Delhi 6
  3. Gal mithi mithi bol (remix)- Delhi 6
  4. Ni nachle- Imran Khan
  5. Chamak Chalo- Ra One
  6. Aewayin Aewayin- Band Baja Baraat
  7. Aja Nachle- Aja Nachle
  8. Sadi Galli- Tannu weds Mannu
  9. I’ve got a feeling- Black Eye Peas
  10. Latthe di Chadar- Rajeshwari

 

Here are some pics from the event:

4 thoughts on “My sister’s mehendi

  1. Hi,
    the mehndi looks stunning MashaAllah. Can you please tell me who was the mehndi wali expert? I’m getting engaged soon iA and I’m in desperate need of one! Please let me know asap as I really don’t know who to go to.
    Thanks

    • Hey. Thank you so much. :) My sister got her mehendi done from this lady called Parveen. These are her digits: 0312 2951840. She works strictly by reference, so i would need to speak to her first. Please email me your details at the.creativedesk@gmail.com so i speak to her. And best of luck and best wishes for the engagement.

Leave a Reply

