Marriage and not a wedding

So, it has been a long time since I blogged, but the reason behind it is that I am probably calmer than before. I came to the point where I had been fretting about the quantum of things to be done and then the bubble burst and I realized, hey, it’s the union of two souls which is important. So, as far as I am concerned, things will work out exactly the way they have to and fretting will yield no results.

I also attended a valima ceremony recently in a lawn tucked away somewhere on Tipu Sultan Road in Karachi. Nothing over the top or indicating usage of a lot of money. No centerpieces or the exact type of exotic flower on each table, but you know what, it turned out pretty good. Everything was peaceful and simple. Puts things in perspective.

So yes, I need to concentrate on the marriage of two souls and not the wedding. That will happen the way it has to. But what is more important is me smiling and looking at my husband and feeling peaceful, not because of my dress, or the stage décor or the food or the theme, but because we love each other and feel blessed to have found each other. <3

May Allah bless us. Ameen.

 Marriage and not a wedding

Leave a Reply

