A perfect wedding?

What is a perfect wedding? I have never imagined a perfect wedding for myself. A perfect dress? Perfect shoes? Perfect venue? Perfect flowers? Perfect this or perfect that? I have zero wants, zero expectations, zero dreams and zero this and that. Not to say that I am unhappy, God Forbid. I am over the moon and very happy, MashaAllah BUT I just am not too zoned towards a perfect event.

I have no wishes to be treated like a princess. I distinctly remember a friend’s wedding when she said: “I’m getting married; you guys should rub ubtan on me.”

What is that all about? To set the record straight, I want no one to treat me any differently or for me to suddenly assume a superior bride role. There is no one certainly rubbing any ubtan on me. No thank you.

I don’t want someone holding my dress from behind or from the front. I will get a dress that enables me to walk the way I usually do- comfortably.

I don’t want folks to put bangles onto my wrist. I’ll manage. :-)

If, I don’t get a bridal shower, I will not die.

What I do want is moments. Close family moments. Lots of smiles. Lots of gratitude. And yes, I want to look like myself and not someone I don’t recognize. And I don’t want to sit on a stage and make people elder to me come up the two stairs so that they can meet me. When did I become so important? No, I will stand up and honour you for your duas and support.

And i want simplicity.

I don’t know how things will turn out, but I hope at the end of it, I will say AlHamdulilAllah.

One thought on “A perfect wedding?

  1. It’s like you read my mind! I really want to recognise myself and be myself on my wedding day inshallah. When you’re planning a wedding it’s so easy to lost sight of who you are and what you want. It’s important to protect your vision of what you want on your day, whether that be all out glamour or simplicity and humbleness. Good for you and may Allah bless your marriage with Baraka inshallah.

Leave a Reply

